Engaging People With Lived Experience of Substance Misuse to Strengthen Prevention Efforts

Description

Prevention practitioners have long known that the meaningful participation of key community sectors and stakeholders is critical to the success of prevention initiatives. Increasingly, practitioners are recognizing the particular need to engage partners with lived experience of substance misuse in the planning and implementation of prevention initiatives—partners whose unique insights transcend what more traditional stakeholders may be able to offer.

This webinar will examine the importance of building relationships with individuals from this group. We will look at how stigma toward people with substance use disorders often impede engagement efforts, and explore concrete strategies for increasing community readiness to collaborate productively. We will also examine some of the ways practitioners across the country are successfully engaging this population in their prevention work.  

Audience

State-, tribe-, and jurisdiction-level SAMHSA prevention grantees, including Grants to Prevent Prescription Drug/Opioid Overdose-Related Deaths (PDO) grantees, Strategic Prevention Framework for Prescription Drugs (SPF Rx) grantees, Partnerships for Success (PFS) grantees, First Responders-Comprehensive Addition and Recovery Act (FR-CARA) grantees, and SAMHSA staff and fellows

Presenter(s)

Gary Langis

Gary is a training and technical assistance (T/TA) provider for the Massachusetts Technical Assistance Partnership for Prevention (MassTAPP), providing TA on substance misuse prevention to communities across the Commonwealth. He has worked in the field of overdose prevention since the late 1980s, collaborating with partners across multiple sectors on initiatives to prevent opioid overdose and related problems.

Michelle Frye-Spray

Michelle is the associate coordinator of the CAPT’s West Resource Team. In this role, she is responsible for coordinating T/TA services to the CAPT’s western service area, comprising 11 states, six Pacific jurisdictions, and five tribes. Michelle collaborates with state and local prevention professionals, epidemiologists, and evaluators to support the use of evidence-based interventions to address substance misuse. Her expertise is grounded in more than 25 years of prevention-related experiences working with schools, communities, states, and tribes.  

Certificates of Participation

Registered participants who attend events will be able to access a certificate of participation in PDF format for the duration of each event (click the "print certificate" link in your archived events listing once the event has concluded). We invite participants to submit these certificates to the substance abuse prevention credentialing board in their state, tribe, or jurisdiction. Please note that it is up to the individual credentialing board to determine if these hours are acceptable for professional credentialing or re-certification.

Contact Information

For questions about event content, please contact Amanda Dougherty, Training and Technical Assistance Associate at adougherty@edc.org(link sends e-mail). If you have technical difficulties, questions, or comments prior to or during the event, please contact our tech team at captconnect@edc.org(link sends e-mail). Please put the event date in the subject of your email so that we can better respond to your inquiry.

Event Dates

  • Thursday, February 15, 2018
    4:00pm to 5:30pm AST
    3:00pm to 4:30pm EST
    2:00pm to 3:30pm CST
    1:00pm to 2:30pm MST
    12:00pm to 1:30pm PST
Current Workflow State: 
Published